Books and Music at the Heart of Independent Publishing

So This Is Permanence: Faber to Publish Ian Curtis Lyrics and Notebooks

September 17, 2013 | by Faber Social

Tags: Deborah Curtis, Ian Curtis, Joy Division, Lee Brackstone, Lyrics, News, So This Is Permanence, jon savage

Faber is pleased to announce the imminent publication of So This Is Permanence: Lyrics and Notebooks, edited by Jon Savage, with a foreword by Deborah Curtis. So This Is Permanence is a collection of the intensely personal writings of one of the most enigmatic and influential songwriters and performers of the late twentieth century, Joy Division’s Ian Curtis.

The songs of Joy Division were born of Manchester in the late seventies and of Ian Curtis’s inner tragedies, as he battled depression, epilepsy and debilitating stage fright. Ian Curtis committed suicide in 1980, on the eve of the band’s first American tour.

Interspersed with the lyrics are previously unpublished facsimile pages of Ian’s notebooks, which throw his lyrics into relief and cast light on the creative process of this influential and legendary songwriter.

Ian Curtis was born in Stretford, Lancashire and grew up in Macclesfield. Joy Division released two seminal post-punk albums: Unknown Pleasures (1979) and Closer (1980).

Jon Savage is the author of England’s Dreaming: Sex Pistols and Punk Rock and Teenage: The Creation of Youth, 1875 – 1945. He has written sleeve notes for Wire, St. Etienne and the Pet Shop Boys, among others.

So This Is Permanence will be published in Spring 2014 and world rights were bought by Lee Brackstone, Creative Director, Faber Social, from Tibor Jones Associates.

For further information, please contact Anna Pallai, Publicity Director Non-Fiction on 020 7927 3884 or at